Winter Damage

Author(s): Natasha Carthew

Young Adult

On a frozen Cornish moor, a fourteen-year-old girl lives in a trailer with her dad and little brother. Ennor's mother left years ago, when things started to go wrong - and gradually their world has fallen apart. Now her father's gravely ill, school has closed, and Ennor knows they're going to take her brother away if things don't pick up soon. Days before Christmas, when the wind is cold and her dad's health takes a turn for the worse, Ennor packs a blanket, a map, a saucepan and a gun into her rucksack, and sets off to find her mum and bring her home. Ennor thinks she knows where she's going. But this journey will change her life for ever - it becomes a battle for survival, a heartbreaking story of love and friendship, and a fable about not finding what you were looking for, but finding something more important instead ...

This book follows the story of Ennor, who journeys to find her estranged mother in the hope of help when she receives a letter that her younger brother 'Trip' should be placed in the care of social service as her father’s health deteriorates. It is on this journey that she meets a gypsy girl called Sonny who joins her on her travels in the world struck by increasing poverty. I found the plot line of this book original and different from a lot of books currently around. Although it would have been good to know more of what was currently affecting their world, which became an underlying idea in the book, overall I still enjoyed the book. - Laura (15)

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A bone-chillingly powerful debut novel that traps you in its icy grasp then thaws you from the heart out - for readers of Meg Rosoff, Siobhan Dowd and Patrick Ness.

Natasha Carthew lives in her native Cornwall with her partner of sixteen years. She has published three volumes of poetry, and works with young people in schools through the Kernow Education Arts Partnership. Winter Damage is her first novel, which she wrote longhand, sitting outside. She is currently writing her second novel, also for Bloomsbury.

General Fields

  • : 9781408835838
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : August 2013
  • : 216mm X 135mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823.92
  • : 320
  • : Natasha Carthew
  • : Hardback