The Spider Network: The Wild Story of a Maths Genius, a Gang of Backstabbing Bankers, and One of the Greatest Scams in Financial History

Author(s): David Enrich

True Crime

Shortlisted for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year!


'Will snare you in its web of deceit ... A brilliant investigative exposU' - Harlan Coben, bestselling thriller author

'Reads like a fast-paced John le CarrU thriller, and never lets up' - New York Times book review


The Spider Network is the almost-unbelievable and darkly entertaining inside account of the Libor scandal - one of the biggest, farthest-reaching financial scams since the global financial crisis - written by the only journalist with access to Tom Hayes before he was sentenced to fourteen years in prison. Full of exclusive details, and with ramifications that stretch right across the British establishment, this is a gripping, real-life story of outlandish characters and reckless greed in the City of London.

By turns a rollicking account of the scandal and also a provocative examination of a financial system that was crooked throughout, The Spider Networkis a perfect read for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short.

$38.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"will snare you in its web of deceit, lies, corruption, manipulation and colourful characters. [a] brilliant investigative expose" Harlan Coben, bestselling thriller author "supremely gripping ... a thrilling tour de force of reporting, revelation and reasoning ... unmissable" Iain Martin, bestselling author of MAKING IT HAPPEN: FRED GOODWIN, RBS AND THE MEN WHO BLEW UP THE BRITISH ECONOMY "An incredibly entertaining, globe-straddling inside account of how one trader turbocharged a greedy cabal that scammed savers and borrowers everywhere. A must read if you want to understand how big banks and traders really work" Marcus Brauchli, former Executive Editor of the Washington Post and Managing Editor of the Wall Street Journal "Equally entertaining and illuminating ... Enrich's brilliant depiction ... owes to deep reporting, deft writing, and a nuanced approach that characterizes the entire book... First-rate." John Helyar, bestselling author of BARBARIANS AT THE GATE "how did a socially awkward English math whiz mastermind manipulation of lending rates on a global scale? And was Tom Hayes truly the mastermind, or just a cog in a corrupt banking system? In David Enrich's gripping tale, the characters have nicknames worthy of the Mafia, and their ethical compasses aren't much better" Paul Ingrassia, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author of CRASH COURSE

DAVID ENRICH is the Financial Enterprise Editor of the Wall Street Journal, heading an elite investigative unit at the paper. His coverage of the Libor scandal, based partly on years of secret access to Tom Hayes and his family, won the Gerald Loeb Award for feature writing in 2016.

General Fields

  • : 9780753557501
  • : Ebury Publishing
  • : Virgin Books Limited
  • : March 2017
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : David Enrich
  • : Paperback
  • : 417
  • : English
  • : 364.168
  • : 496