Oneida: From Free Love Utopia to the Well-Set Table

Author(s): Ellen Wayland-Smith

History

Description: Amidst the religious fervor of the Second Great Awakening, John Humphrey Noyes, a spirited but socially awkward young man, attracted a group of devoted followers with his fiery sermons about creating Jesus' millennial kingdom here on earth. Noyes and his followers built a large communal house in rural New York where they engaged in what Noyes called "complex marriage," an elaborate system of free love where sexual relations with multiple partners was encouraged. Noyes was eventually inspired to institute a program of eugenics, known as "stirpiculture," to breed a new generation of Oneidans from the best members of the Community-many fathered by him. When Noyes died in 1886, the Community disavowed Noyes' disreputable sexual theories and embraced their thriving business of flatware. Oneida Community, Limited would go on to become one of the nation's leading manufacturers of silverware, and their brand a coveted mark of middle-class respectability in pre- and post-WWII America. Told by a descendant of one of the Community's original families, Oneida is a captivating story that straddles two centuries to reveal how a radical, free-love sect, turning its back on its own ideals, transformed into a purveyor of the white picket fence American dream. . For readers of Jill Lepore, Joseph J. Ellis, and Greg Grandin


 


 


 


Author Biography: Ellen Wayland-Smith teaches in the Writing Program at the University of Southern California, and received her PhD. in Comparative Literature from Princeton University. A descendant of John Humphrey Noyes, the founder of the Oneida community, she lives in Los Angeles with her family.


Promotional Information: Fans of Joseph Ellis and David McCullough will appreciate this engrossing entry' (Library Journal, starred review) into a radical religious community, now a symbol of middle-class respectability.

$28.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781250131867
  • : Picador USA
  • : Picador USA
  • : October 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ellen Wayland-Smith
  • : Paperback