100 Million Years of Food: What Our Ancestors Ate and Why It Matters Today

Author(s): Stephen Le

History

There are few areas of modern life that offer as much information and advice, often contradictory, as diet and health: eat a lot of meat, don't eat meat; whole-grains are healthy, whole-grains are a disaster; and on it goes. Biological anthropologist Stephen Le cuts through the confusing mass of information to present the long view of our diet. Like his mentor Jared Diamond, he uses history and science to present a fascinating and wide-ranging tour of human history as viewed through what and how we eat. Travelling the world to places as far-flung as Vietnam, Kenya, Nova Scotia, and Iowa, Le visits people producing food using traditional methods as well as modern techniques, and looks at how our relationship to food has strayed from centuries of tradition, to mass-produced assembly lines dependent on chemicals that bring with them a host of problems. 100 Million Years of Food argues that our ancestral diets and lifestyles are the best first line of defense in protecting our health; the optimal diet is to eat what your ancestors ate. In this clear-cut and compelling book, we learn not only what to eat, but how our diets are the product of millions of years of evolution. . For readers of Michael Moss


Product Information

An exploration of what we eat and how we live, and the health consequences of denying our complicated evolutionary history with food.

Stephen Le earned his doctorate in biological anthropology from UCLA, where he held a prestigious Chancellor's Fellowship. He also holds a master's degree in international relations from Johns Hopkins University and an undergraduate degree in mathematics. He has held grants from the National Science Foundation and the Japan Society for the promotion of science, and his research has appeared in the Journal of Theoretical Biology and Cross-Cultural Research.

General Fields

  • : 9781250117885
  • : St Martin's Press
  • : St Martin's Press
  • : January 2018
  • : 236mm X 155mm
  • : United States
  • : January 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 320
  • : Stephen Le
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 641.3