Starborn

Author(s): Lucy Hounsom

Fiction - Fantasy

Shortlisted for the 2016 David Gemmell Morningstar Award for Best Debut Death and destruction will bar her way...Kyndra's fate holds betrayal and salvation, but the journey starts in her small village. On the day she comes of age, she accidentally disrupts an ancient ceremony, ending centuries of tradition. So when an unnatural storm targets her superstitious community, Kyndra is blamed. She fears for her life until two strangers save her, by wielding powers not seen for an age - powers fuelled by the sun and the moon. Together, they flee to the hidden citadel of Naris. And here, Kyndra experiences disturbing visions of the past, showing war and one man's terrifying response. She'll learn more in the city's subterranean chambers, amongst fanatics and rebels. But first Kyndra will be brutally tested in a bid to unlock her own magic. If she survives the ordeal, she'll discover a force greater than she could ever have imagined. But could it create as well as destroy? And can she control it, to right an ancient wrong? With George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones now a huge TV success, fantasy fiction has never been more popular. And these books are traditional fantasy at its very best.

$20.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Starborn is a tale of heroism and lost powers, where one person's choices will shape the fate of thousands. This is for readers who love Trudi Canavan, David Eddings and Karen Miller.

Shortlisted for David Gemmell Morningstar Award 2016.

Evocative, original worldbuilding and a wonderfully feisty heroine: top marks to Lucy Hounsom Karen Miller A brave heroine, a perilous destiny, and an intriguing world full of myth and mystery make for an enthralling read Gail Z. Martin I thought it was great, reminding me of Trudi Canavan; it had me turning pages way into the night, which is not good at my age! What a mix: immersive worldbuilding, secret societies, a flawed and hugely likeable protagonist, and awesome magic. There's a lot to like here, but be warned, this book will seriously damage your sleep. John Gwynne Has all the elements to become a modern classic of the genre. It's essentially a coming-of-age story that breaks out into a wide-screen fantasy extravaganza with huge stakes Independent on Sunday For those readers with a yearning for a novel with a Trudi Canavan / David Eddings type vibe, but with a contemporary twist, Starborn may be just the ticket SFFWorld.com An exciting new high fantasy story ... the story moves along at a brisk pace SFBook.com A genuinely impressive debut, and Lucy Hounsom is definitely one to watch TheBookbag.co.uk Evocative, original worldbuilding and a wonderfully feisty heroine: top marks to Lucy Hounsom Karen Miller A brave heroine, a perilous destiny, and an intriguing world full of myth and mystery make for an enthralling read Gail Z. Martin I thought it was great, reminding me of Trudi Canavan; it had me turning pages way into the night, which is not good at my age! What a mix: immersive worldbuilding, secret societies, a flawed and hugely likeable protagonist, and awesome magic. There's a lot to like here, but be warned, this book will seriously damage your sleep. John Gwynne Has all the elements to become a modern classic of the genre. It's essentially a coming-of-age story that breaks out into a wide-screen fantasy extravaganza with huge stakes Independent on Sunday For those readers with a yearning for a novel with a Trudi Canavan / David Eddings type vibe, but with a contemporary twist, Starborn may be just the ticket SFFWorld.com An exciting new high fantasy story ... the story moves along at a brisk pace SFBook.com A genuinely impressive debut, and Lucy Hounsom is definitely one to watch TheBookbag.co.uk

Lucy Hounsom works for Waterstones and has a BA in English & Creative Writing from Royal Holloway. She went on to complete an MA in Creative Writing under Andrew Motion in 2010. Lucy lives in Devon.

General Fields

  • : 9781509841684
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Pan Books
  • : August 2017
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 544
  • : Lucy Hounsom
  • : Paperback
  • : New Edition
  • : en
  • : 823.92