Heartland

Author(s): Lucy Hounsom

Fiction - Fantasy

She came to protect a people, but she needs to preserve a world. Kyndra has saved and damned the people of Mariar. Her star-born powers healed a land in turmoil, but destroyed an ancient magic - which once concealed them from invaders. Now Kyndra must head into enemy territory to secure peace. She finds the Sartyan Empire, unstable but as warlike as ever. It's plagued by dissident factions, yet its emperor still has the strength to crush her homeland. The Khronostians, assassins who dance through time, could help Kyndra; or they might be her undoing. And deep within the desert, Char Lesko struggles to control his own emerging powers. He's been raised by a mercenary whose secrets could change everything - including the future and the past. But when Kyndra and Char meet, will their goals align? Kyndra must harness the full glory of the stars and Char has to channel his rage, or two continents will be lost.

$20.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Following Starborn, Heartland is the second in Lucy Hounsom's captivating fantasy series, perfect for fans of Trudi Canavan, David Eddings and Gail Z. Martin.

Evocative, original world-building and a wonderfully feisty heroine: top marks to Lucy Hounsom -- Karen Miller on Starborn (Book One) A brave heroine, a perilous destiny, and an intriguing world full of myth and mystery make for an enthralling read -- Gail Z. Martin on Starborn (Book One) I thought it was great, reminding me of Trudi Canavan; it had me turning pages way into the night, which is not good at my age! What a mix: immersive worldbuilding, secret societies, a flawed and hugely likeable protagonist, and awesome magic. There's a lot to like here, but be warned, this book will seriously damage your sleep -- John Gwynne on Starborn (Book One) Has all the elements to become a modern classic of the genre. It's essentially a coming-of-age story that breaks out into a wide-screen fantasy extravaganza with huge stakes * Independent on Sunday on Starborn (Book One) *

Lucy Hounsom works for Waterstones and has a BA in English & Creative Writing from Royal Holloway. She went on to complete an MA in Creative Writing under Andrew Motion in 2010. Lucy lives in Devon.

General Fields

  • : 9781447268628
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Pan Books
  • : August 2017
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Main Market Ed.
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : 496
  • : Lucy Hounsom
  • : Paperback