Standing in Another Man's Grave

Author(s): Ian Rankin

Fiction - Crime

It's twenty-five years since John Rebus appeared on the scene, and five years since he retired. But 2012 sees his return in Standing in Another Man's Grave.
Not only is Rebus as stubborn and anarchic as ever, but he finds himself in trouble with Rankin's latest creation, Malcolm Fox of Edinburgh's internal affairs unit. Added to which, Rebus may be about to derail the career of his ex-colleague Siobhan Clarke, while himself being permanently derailed by mob boss and old adversary Big Ger Cafferty. But all Rebus wants to do is discover the truth about a series of seemingly unconnected disappearances stretching back to the millennium. The problem being, no one else wants to go there - and that includes Rebus's fellow officers. Not that any of that is going to stop Rebus. Not even when his own life and the careers of those around him are on the line.

I had a reading copy so I'm way too early with this - but Rebus is back! Ian Rankin's new novel Standing in Another Man's Grave sees Rebus back in action and locking horns with Rankin's later creation, Malcolm Fox from The Complaints. This must have been an extremely difficult task as each man deals with his own demons in a manner which renders him intolerable to the other. The book isn't out until November but it is worth putting your name down for a copy (and I'll try to remember to mention it again!). - Tim

And lastly for crime fiction I read Ian Rankin's latest - a wonderful meeting of the cantankerous Inspector Rebus, who has been Rankin's main character in many novels, and his newer creation, Malcolm Fox, a police officer whose role is to look for corruption in the police force. Standing In Another Man's Grave is excellent. - Susi

This book brings Rankin's favourite character back John Rebus along with a small part for his new character Malcolm Fox. Rebus is now semi-retired and working for the 'cold case' department and Malcolm Fox has Rebus in his sights. I loved this, Rebus is a great character. - Peter


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Ian Rankin is the internationally bestselling author of the Inspector Rebus and Detective Malcolm Fox novels, as well as a string of standalone thrillers. His books have been translated into 36 languages and are bestsellers on several continents. Ian is the recipient of four CWA Dagger Awards and in 2004, won America's celebrated Edgar Award. He is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Hull and Edinburgh and received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.

General Fields

  • : 9781409144724
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : August 2011
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 352
  • : Ian Rankin
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 823.914
  • : very good