The Invitation

Author(s): Lucy Foley

Fiction - Contemporary

The second epic, escapist novel from a fresh new talent - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop. 'Fabulously engrossing' Woman Home Rome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the post-war darkness, she's a point of light. They're from different worlds, but both trying and failing to carve out a new life. Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal's world. They join the Contessa's collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for Cannes film festival. The scene on board is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella's secrets run the deepest. Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who's been confined to history. The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain, and to a golden - if rather haunted - time.

$34.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'I loved THE INVITATION ... I could dive into this book and be amongst the glittering characters in the Italian sun. A beautifully complex and vivid story, full of repressed longing and secrets. An absolutely enchanting tale' Lucinda Riley 'So powerfully evoked ... with dark, sensuous undercurrents that lingered on in my mind, long after I'd reluctantly left Stella and Hal behind' Kate Riordan 'Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past ... richly drawn and compelling' Rosanna Ley 'Glamorous and romantic and bittersweet all at once ... a fabulous story' Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers 'It's a beautiful, compulsive and glamorous read - perfect for long summer days' Lucy Clarke, author of the Richard Judy bestseller, The Sea Sisters 'The combination of the glittering, glamorous setting and the magnetic characters mesmerized me. This book is luminous' Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of Here's To Us 'A compelling love story that takes us far beyond the alluring Italian coast to a darker place, where secrets hide just below the water's surface ... A great read' Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote her debut, The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally!) and working on her next novel. Visit her Facebook page at www.facebook.com/LucyFoleyAuthor and follow her on Twitter @lucyfoleytweets

General Fields

  • : 9780007575374
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • : March 2016
  • : 23.40 cmmm X 15.30 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lucy Foley
  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 416