Omnivore's Dilemma: The Search for a Perfect Meal in a Fast-Food World

Author(s): Michael Pollan

Current Affairs

What shall we have for dinner? Such a simple question has grown to have a very complicated answer. We can eat almost anything nature has to offer, but deciding what we should eat stirs anxiety. Should we choose the organic apple or the conventional? If organic, local or imported? Wild fish or farmed? Low-carb or low-cal? As the American culture of fast food and unlimited choice invades the world, Pollan follows his next meal from land to table, tracing the origin of everything consumed and the implications for ourselves and our planet. His astonishing findings will shock all who care about what they put on their plate.

Michael Pollan’s classic, The Omnivore’s Dilemma – The secrets behind what you eat, is about food, where it comes from, and how it gets to our table. Michael Pollan investigates and cooks meals from four different sources: the industrial meal, the industrial organic meal, local sustainable meal and the do-it-yourself meal. The story behind a takeaway meal, mass production of food, and reliance on corn are some of the often shocking topics that are covered, balanced by back-to-basics sensible eating and food-to-table processes. The Omnivore’s Dilemma is fascinating, well researched and full of interesting anecdotes. Next on my list is Michael Pollan’s latest book, Cooked- the natural history of transformation, which looks at how cooking influences our life and how it can change the way we live. -Sarah

$30.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

By the acclaimed author of The Botany of Desire For fans of Fast Food Nation, Shopped and You Are What You Eat The Omnivore's Dilemma has been shortlisted for the Andre Simon Memorial award 2006.

The Omnivore's Dilemma has been shortlisted for the Andre Simon Memorial award 2006.

'Beautifully written and shocking investigation of what slips into the swelling American stomach ... entertaining and eloquent' --Daily Telegraph

'This is one of the most thought-provoking books I've read in a while ... After you read this book there will be things you don't want to eat, ever again ... An honest, brilliant, troubling book. I recommend it to anyone' --Evening Standard

'Convivial, creative and deeply disturbing, though he does offer hope ... it has certainly changed the way I think about food' Audrey Niffenegger, Guardian

'On our we-need-to-know-this reading list ... a patient investigation of his nation's calorie industries' Mail on Sunday

Michael Pollan is the author of Second Nature, A Place of My Own, and The Botany of Desire, which was recognized as a best book of the year by the American Booksellers Association and Amazon. A longtime contributor to the New York Times Magazine, Pollan is also the Knight Professor of Journalism at UC Berkeley. www.michaelpollan.com

General Fields

  • : 9781408812181
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : January 2011
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Michael Pollan
  • : Paperback
  • : 2
  • : English
  • : 394.120973
  • : 464
  • : Food & Drink