Where the World Turns Wild

Author(s): Nicola Penfold

Children - 9 to 14

Animals, trees, flowers, our city forbids them all...



Juniper Greene lives in a walled city from which nature has been banished, following the outbreak of a deadly man-made disease many years earlier. While most people seem content to live in such a cage, she and her little brother Bear have always known about their resistance to the disease, and dream of escaping into the wild. To the one place humans have survived outside of cities. To where their mother is.

When scientists discover that the siblings provide the key to fighting the disease, the pair must flee for their lives. As they journey into the unknown, they soon learn that there's cruelty in nature as well as beauty. Will they ever find the home they're searching for?

A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from a fresh new voice in children's fiction. Perfect for fans of THE EXPLORER, THE LAST WILDand THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING.

"Some books are excellent story-telling, and some books broaden your knowledge and mind, and some just ought to be written and this book is all three. I loved it." - Hilary McKay, author of THE SKYLARKS' WAR

"WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILDis a journey between extremes of grey and green, propelled by a bold and timely concept, and written with sharp, intelligent prose. A truly heartfelt and very striking novel." - Darren Simpson, author of SCAVENGERS

"A beautiful, memorable story about all the important things - love, family, loyalty, and courage - contained inside a brilliant adventure, WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILDcan't fail to enthrall any reader lucky enough to encounter it." - Sinéad O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTHand THE STAR-SPUN WEB

"Wondrous, warm-hearted, wildly exhilarating [...] The world is familiar and frightening, the relationships between characters beautifully rendered - Nicola Penfold is an author to watch." - Nizrana Farook, author of THE GIRL WHO STOLE AN ELEPHANT

"This novel packs a powerful punch. It calls on the 'wild' in all of us through the characters of these two brave children. We cannot help being drawn in by their epic struggle." - Cath Howe, author of ELLA ON THE OUTSIDE

"It is extraordinary! This compelling book has future classic written all over it!" - Lindsay Galvin, author of THE SECRET DEEP








$20.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781788951524
  • : Little Tiger Press Group
  • : Stripes Publishing
  • : January 2020
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 352
  • : Nicola Penfold