The Theory of Almost Everything: The Standard Model, the Unsung Triumph of Modern Physics

Author(s): Robert Oerter

Popular Science

For fans of Brian Greene and Stephen Hawking, a guide to the most important theory in modern physics, in a tour de force of science writing There are two scientific theories that, taken together, explain the entire universe. The first, which describes the force of gravity, is widely known: Einstein's General Theory of Relativity. But the theory that explains everything else - the Standard Model of Elementary Particles - is virtually unknown among the general public. In The Theory of Almost Everything, Robert Oerter shows how what were once thought to be separate forces of nature were combined into a single theory by some of the most brilliant minds of the twentieth century. Rich with accessible analogies and lucid prose, The Theory of Almost Everything celebrates a heretofore unsung achievement in human knowledge - and reveals the sublime structure that underlies the world as we know it. First published 2006.

$33.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"Accessible and engaging...This book is for anyone interested in modern physics and ultimate answers about the universe." - Science News "We always hear about black holes, the big bang, and the search for life in the universe. But rare is the book that celebrates the Standard Model of Elementary Particles - a triumph of 20th century science that underpins nearly all we know about physical reality. Oerter's The Theory of Almost Everything belongs on anyone's shelf who cares about how the universe really works." - Neil deGrasse Tyson"

Robert Oerter teaches physics at George Mason University. He lives in Maryland.

General Fields

  • : 9780452287860
  • : 9010000000000052857
  • : 9010000000000052857
  • : November 2006
  • : 215mm X 139mm X 18mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 530
  • : 336
  • : illustrations
  • : Robert Oerter
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition