The Briar King

Author(s): Greg Keyes

Fiction - Fantasy

The first in a dazzling four-volume fantasy epic of war and virtue, sorcery and betrayal, from an internationally acclaimed award-winning author. In the kingdom of Crotheny, two young girls play in the tangled gardens of the sacred city of the dead where, fleeing an imaginary attacker, they discover the unknown crypt of a legendary, ancestral queen. In the wilds of the forest, while investigating the mass slaughter of an innocent family, the king's forester comes face-to-face with a monstrous beast found only in folk tales and nightmares. Meanwhile, travelling the same road, a scholarly young priest begins his education in the nature of the evil that festers just beneath the surface of a seemingly peaceful realm. For the royal family is facing a betrayal that only sorcery can accomplish. And now, for three beautiful sisters, for a young man elevated to knighthood, and for for countless others, a darkness is emerging to shatter all that once seemed certain, familiar, and good. Numerous separate destinies will become entangled as malevolent forces stalk the land - and The Briar King, that primeval harbinger of death, has awakened from his slumber.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"A wonderful tale . . . It crackles with suspense and excitement from start to finish."
"STARTS OFF WITH A BANG, spinning a snare of terse imagery and compelling characters that grips tightly and never lets up. . . .
A graceful, artful tale from a master storyteller."
Bestselling author of "Prophecy: Child of Earth
""THE CHARACTERS IN "THE BRIAR KING" ABSOLUTELY BRIM WITH LIFE. . . . Keyes hooked me from the first page and I'll now be eagerly anticipating sitting down with each future volume of The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series."
Award-winning author of "Forests of the Heart "and "The Onion Girl
--"Monroe News-Star "(LA)

Greg Keyes was born in Meridian, Mississippi to a large, diverse storytelling family. He received degrees in anthropology from Mississippi State University and the University of Georgia before becoming a full-time writer. He is the author of the Age of Unreason tetralogy, as well as The Waterborn, The Blackgod, and the Star Wars 'New Jedi Order' novels - Edge of Victory I: Conquest, and Edge of Victory II: Rebirth. He lives in Savannah Georgia.

General Fields

  • : 9780330419451
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Tor
  • : July 2004
  • : 178mm X 111mm X 32mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 813.54
  • : 560
  • : Greg Keyes
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition